Lets Have Real Ramen!

So this past weekend my Mr. A  and I finally had real Japanese Ramen from a very small place called Thunder Ramen here in Misawa-shi. Yeah, there are about a billion places in every town to get it and they all do it differently but this place came recommended from Mr. A’s co-workers and so that is where we went.

This place was very small. Max capacity was probably about 40 people, which isn’t too small but much smaller than the 300 head count you can get from an Olive Garden. There weren’t many people in there, so we sat alone on one half of the space and a group of four sat on the other.

20140629_163800Mr. A and I both got the pork dumpling ramen, it looked too good to pass up. So throwing our rules with Sirs B, F and M out the window, we ordered the same thing (one rule with them was that no one could order the same thing, silly, I know. But it was often broken).

20140629_164337

It was full of all kinds of yummy things: a slice of fish paste (the wink and white thing), half of a hard boiled egg (still chilled, the temperature difference added a nice contrast), bamboo thingies (that were way better than any I ever had in the states), green onions, sesame seeds, seaweed and of course 4 pork dumplings that were simply divine. Last but not least, nestled at the bottom of the bowl were the noodles, and of course the broth.

Now, ramen noodles do not get served al dente like most other noodles. They’re mostly squishy but still have loads of texture. They were the best, very lite and a nice contrast to the broth. The broth on the other hand was very rich. It was richer than home made chicken soup is rich and the taste is indescribable. I thought I died when I took my first bite. If I miss anything when we leave this country it will be the ramen.

Further more, I need to bone up on my chop stick skills. I had a hard time dealing wit the noodles for a good bit of the meal….

Leave a Reply

